Eight former Edo LG chairmen dump PDP for APC


Eight ex-local government chairmen of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Edo State have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the September 21 governorship election.

The defectors, who were elected under the platform of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), pledged support for APC and its governorship candidate Senator Monday Okpebholo.

Those who defected include: John Osi Akhigbe (Etsako Central); Dr. Josie Ogedegbe (Igueben); Frank Ilaboya (Owan West); Andrew Osigwe (Owan East); Napoleon Agbama (Uhunmwonde); Scott Ogbemudia (Ovia Northeast); Austin Okoibhole (Esan Northeast) and Mrs. Ruth Osahor (Esan West).

The ex-chairmen defected to PDP with Governor Godwin Obaseki on June 19, 2020 ahead of the September 19, 2020 governorship election.

They were received at Benin residence of the leader of APC in Edo, Senator Adams Oshiomhole.

The former Edo Governor was accompanied by Okpebholo; his running mate, Dennis Idahosa; and Acting APC chairman in the state, Jarret Tenebe.

Oshiomhole, who represents Edo North, said: “On behalf of our state chairman, the APC family, and the governor-in-waiting, Senator Monday Okpebholo, and his deputy, Hon. Dennis Idahosa, I am very honoured to receive my men – these are people who God used me to mobilise into ACN and now APC. Some of them have played very critical roles in governance, when I was governor. Some of them were local government council chairmen.

“Like every family sometimes have misunderstandings or communication gap or even there is share temptation, and they had cause to leave, but today, they have come to inform us they are moving back home.

“The good news is that this house is so large, with so many rooms and a big living room, and can accommodate everyone, as it has accommodated all of us today without much planning – no logistics is involved and no hiring of canopy.

“I am excited that these young politicians have chosen to return home, and we have all resolved to receive them, as if they never left before, and they will enjoy all rights and privileges that members of APC enjoy.”

The former National Chairman of APC urged the defectors and other lovers of democracy and good governance to support the election of Okpebholo and Idahosa.

He said: “For those who have the obligation to join us in the current project to ensure that through free and transparent election, this great state, the heartbeat of Nigeria, returns under the governance of APC, with Monday Okpebholo, who is a distinguished Senator that was transparently elected last year as the next governor of this state and of course Dennis Idahosa who was elected and re-elected – these are not strangers to ballot boxes, as they are products of ballot.

“All they need is to spread the influence across Edo State to re-kickstart the progressive politics of APC that guided my actions when I was governor, and continue from where I stopped.”

Oshiomhole, an ex-President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), also stated that he was excited about the defection of the experienced politicians while urging Edo electorate to support the APC’s winning team.

Ilaboya, while speaking on behalf of the defectors, described their action as homecoming, stating there were Oshiomhole’s children, who want to continue with his vision.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here