Bye-election: APC candidate, Abiru wins Lagos east senate seat


Tokunbo Abiru, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Lagos east senatorial bye-election, has been declared winner of the exercise.

According to the results announced by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Abiru polled a total of 89,204 votes while Babatunde Gbadamosi, his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival, secured 11,257 votes, leaving a margin of 77,947 votes.

Abiru defeated his opponent by a wide margin in all the five local government areas in the senatorial district.

Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Kosofe, Shomolu and Ikorodu are the five local government areas in Lagos east.

Below are the results in all LGAs:


APC: 17,728
PDP: 2,067


APC: 22,213
PDP: 1,826

Ibeju Lekki 

APC: 16,336
PDP: 937


APC: 19,204
PDP: 3,766


APC: 13,723
PDP: 2,661

Abiru, a former chief executive officer of Polaris Bank, had resigned his position to contest the election after the death of Adebayo Osinowo, former occupant olf the office in June.

Credit-The Cable



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here